it’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (#24)

Welcome to this week’s installment of “It’s Monday” — a weekly meme sponsored by One Person’s Journey Through A World Of Books where I can discuss my current reads, and what I’d like to read next.

As I’m now working again I’m only reading in the evenings now rather than throughout the day. I also have a new setup in my new apartment where the laptop is somewhat rooted to a desk (the power cord won’t reach too far from the outlet) so the days of reading eBooks while laying on the bed are temporarily over unless I go on battery power which lasts about ninety minutes if I’m lucky. But I’m still managing to read for a while each and every day (closing in on a one-year reading streak). This past week I read The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz by L. Frank Baum for the first time, noting many differences from the famed 1939 MGM movie. And earlier this month I finally finished The Adventures Of Huckleberry Finn, having started it at the beginning of March. Yesterday, I read a two-chapter free sample of Bone Rattler: A Mystery Of Colonial America by Eliot Pattison which really whetted my appetite to seek out the full book. I’ve now begun to read Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner; I’d read his second novel, A Thousand Splendid Suns back in September 2009 and loved it but it took me some time to track down the debut. I’m also continuing to read bits out of the very interesting Seafaring Lore and Legend whenever I’m in the mood.

CURRENTLY READING:
Seafaring Lore and Legend by Peter D. James
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

WHAT’S NEXT?
I have no idea, but probably another Janet Evanovich or a Clive Cussler or perhaps a Sue Grafton. There are also much weightier tomes high in my to-be-read queue including several by Ken Follett, a biography of John Adams by David McCullough, and either The Corrections or Freedom by Jonathan Franzen pushing their way to the forefront. I never really know in advance which book I’m going to pick up (place the pointer on and click the trackpad) before I do so…


Daily Writing Totals:
This Article – 358 words
Total Today — 358 words

Leave a Reply

