The 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 19

Day 19 – Favorite Book Turned Into A Movie

I’ve gotten off-track with this challenge a little but there has been a lot going on in my life recently. I never said I’d be posting the topics in this challenge for 30 consecutive days.

Today’s installment is deceptively easy but there are two books that rank high in my personal experience, both as books and as movies. Since I can’t choose between the two I’ll briefly (and I mean it this time) write about each.

First up, of course, is Harper Lee’s To Kill A Mockingbird of which I’m written at length during this challenge. I actually saw the movie before the book and it’s because of this that I hear the actor’s voices in my head whenever I re-read the novel. It’s a true classic and I’m pleased that Gregory Peck was recently honored for his role in it on a U.S. postage stamp. When choosing which image to use for this year’s installment in their “Legends Of Hollywood” series, the U.S. Postal Service had so many they could have chosen from but the iconic picture of Peck as Atticus Finch was the overwhelming favorite in the Stamp Advisory Board’s selection process. I couldn’t imagine any other actor speaking those lines. In fact, the entire cast was absolutely perfect.

I’m also a huge fan of the book and movie of John Steinbeck’s The Grapes Of Wrath. I believe I read this one even before To Kill A Mockingbird and it’s another that is hard to separate film portrayal and novel when I re-read it (almost as often as Lee’s book). John Ford’s cinematography is one of filmdom’s great classics as is James Stewart’s role as Tom Joad. His lines to his mom about remembrance are heartfelt both on the page and the screen; they were good enough for Bruce Springsteen to base the title track to his 1995 album The Ghost Of Tom Joad around. Tributes to Americana don’t come much more significant than that!


Daily Writing Totals:
This Article – 324 words
Total Today — 324 words

Leave a Reply

