The 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 9

PBW Bookworm 011.jpgDay 9: A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

Ooh! There’s been a lot of those. My biggest problem over the past couple of years has been to give up on some books much too soon. Even if I struggle on the first few chapters, I’m beginning to realize that if I stick with it the rewards can be great.

The best example of this would be Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I’d started to read it on at least one previous occasion but just wasn’t in the right frame of mind, I suppose. It didn’t help that the copy I’d tried to read was a poorly-formatted PDF. At the time I wasn’t a big fan of eBooks (oh, how that’s changed!).

But last May a colleague of mine was preparing to teach the book to second-language sixth graders. She loaned me one of the extra copies and something just clicked. Perhaps it was reading it as a “real” book or maybe I’d become much more open to “kids’ books.” Our school had just started participating in the Scholastic Book Clubs and I was working hard at the time to promote sales! From a teacher’s standpoint I was thrilled that these books had ignited the love of reading in so many students. But as a reader I never thought I’d love them as much as I came to. I just couldn’t put the book down and even began seeking out The Chamber of Secrets before I’d finished. Alas, our school didn’t have a copy so I ended up reading that one (and all of those that followed) as an eBook. I’m already contemplating a re-read, if not of the entire series at least I’ll return to the debut.

I don’t know if I ever let Claire no how much I appreciated the loan of that book…


The Phuket Bookworm Daily Writing Word Counts:
This Article — 296
Total Today — 581

Leave a Reply

