The 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 3

PBW Bookworm 005.jpg Day 3: Your Favorite Series

Today’s topic is fairly easy although it’s more in the “”Young Adult/Fanstasy” category than the mysteries I usually read. That of course is the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.

Prior to last year I’d never read a single one of these books, nor had I watched any of the movies. I don’t know what prompted me to pick up The Philosopher’s Stone (yes, all of my copies were the British editions without all the changes that were made for those sold in America) back last 16th May. I’m glad I did and I finished the novel the morning of the 22nd, watched the movie, and immediately launched into The Chamber of Secrets (I finished that one in just one day!). This was a trend I maintained for the next couple of months (with a few breaks for variety) and managed to finish the seventh in the series on 26th July. In a way I didn’t want to complete The Deathly Hallows as I would actually have to wait another couple of months before the movie was released (and, then, only Part 1!).

The series as a whole kept me enthralled like none other had in many years. Indeed the only other I can think of right now would have to be The Lord Of The Rings (which I would have declared my favorite if The Hobbit had actually been a part of it and also for the fact that I never actually finished the third book!). I never read a lot of fantasy while growing up and it’s been years since I’ve picked up a science fiction novel (I once tried to read every short story and novel that Isaac Asimov had written, an impossible task). But Harry Potter has opened the possibility that I should seek out more of these types of books, a direct result being my recent discovery of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series (which I have yet to become that big of a fan of).

As I’m a big fan of mystery novels I should mention that I have quite a few favorite series in this genre. I can’t decide if I like Tony Hillerman’s Leaphorn and Chee series more or the Burglar (Bernie Rhodenbarr) series by Lawrence Block. I’d say Hillerman for the locale (I moved to New Mexico largely as a result of the series and met him on numerous occasions while living there — and not always in bookstores, either!) and Block for the dialogue (which is the most realistic of any I’ve read). Up-and-coming new favorite series include the Stephanie Plum numbered novels by Janet Evanovich and the alphabet series by Sue Grafton (well, I’ve only read A Is For Alibi thus far).

©2011 by Phuket Bookworm

Leave a Reply

